Accident reports are an important part of recovery from a car accident. Not only does this report show that the accident happened, but it details what happened, who was at fault, and records any injuries that were sustained. 

In Illinois, it is important to know this report is essential, and how you can use that report for your claim. Read on to learn more about this often-key piece of evidence for your Chicago car accident claim

Reporting the Accident to the Proper Authority

It is important to report the accident to the proper authorities where the accident happened. This should be done within twenty-four hours of the accident happening

These reports are generally written up by the local police. They will look at the damages, injuries, speak to witnesses, and provide the facts of what happened. This report is a useful recording of how and why the accident happened, which can help you keep your memory fresh about the accident. 

When You Should File a Report 

Accidents that result in any injuries or death, or property damage that totals over $1,500, should be reported. If the other vehicle does not have insurance coverage, the damages only have to total $500. Usually, a police officer will show up to an accident, but if they do not show up at the scene, you still need to file a report. 

The report should be filed with the local police department or the Illinois State Police. This should be done as soon as possible. The report must be a written one on the accident, and sent in within ten days of the accident and submitted to the Illinois Department of Transportation, Division of Traffic Safety. 

Once this claim is filed, you can get a copy online or talk to your lawyer about your other options. Failure to send in a report regarding the crash to the Department of Transportation can leave you liable for a fine of up to $2,500 or even up to a year in prison. 

The Importance of an Accident Report 

Speaking with an insurance company can be tough, especially if they don’t want to work with you. An accident report will show the insurance company who was at fault, as well as the facts of what actually happened. This is a legal record of the accident and one that helps the insurance companies decide how much should be paid out, and to whom. 

If the insurance companies do not want to come to a conclusion on who should pay for the damages, this report can help your lawyer build your lawsuit. If your police report is clear about who’s at fault, that can be key evidence against the insurer’s refusal to pay. 

Get Legal Aid Using Your Police Report

If you’ve been injured in an accident, make sure to speak with experienced attorneys like those at Lane & Lane, LLC. They can provide more insight on what is necessary to receive the compensation you feel you deserve. 

Ready for your free consultation? Give us a call at 312-332-1400 or fill out the online contact form below to learn more about filing and using your police report. 

Justice means closure for sex abuse victims. When an abuser is held accountable for their actions, it provides a sense of relief to the victim that can be life-changing. For too long, society has turned a blind eye to sexual abuse, choosing instead to protect the abuser. This must change. Victims of sexual abuse deserve to have their voices heard and their abusers held accountable for their crimes. 

Sex abuse is a traumatic experience that can have a lasting impact on the victim’s life. The physical and emotional scars of sexual abuse can take years to heal, if they ever do. In many cases, the victim is left with a sense of shame and guilt that can be crippling. When an abuser is brought to justice, it helps the victim to feel validated and helps them to begin the healing process.

At Lane & Lane, LLC, we believe that justice means closure for sex abuse victims. We will fight tirelessly to ensure that our clients receive the justice they deserve. If you or someone you know has been a victim of sexual abuse, please contact us today.

Why Justice for Closure Is Important

Sexual abuse is a crime that leaves the victim feeling violated, humiliated, and helpless. The physical and emotional scars of sexual abuse can last a lifetime. For many victims, the only way to begin the healing process is to see their abuser brought to justice. When an abuser is held accountable for their actions, it sends a strong message to the victim that they are not to blame. It also sends a message to society that sexual abuse will not be tolerated.

There Is a Need to Believe Victims of Sexual Abuse

Too often, victims of sexual abuse are met with skepticism and disbelief. Society has a tendency to protect the abuser and discount the victim’s account of what happened. This must change. Victims of sexual abuse deserve to be believed and their abusers held accountable for their crimes.

Forms of Sexual Abuse

Sexual abuse can take many forms. It can be physical, verbal, or emotional. It can occur between two people who are in a relationship or it can be a one-time event. Sexual abuse is always about power and control. The abuser uses sexual abuse as a way to assert their power over the victim.

This power gap usually has the effect of silencing the victim. The fear of not being believed or of retaliation can keep victims from coming forward. This is why it’s so important for society to believe victims of sexual abuse and hold abusers accountable for their actions.

Sexual Abuse of Minors

Sadly, sexual abuse is not limited to adults. Children are often the victims of sexual abuse. In fact, one in four girls and one in six boys will be sexually abused before they reach the age of 18. This type of abuse can have a profound effect on a child’s development. It can cause them to feel isolated, ashamed, and worthless.

As a society, we must do better to protect our children from sexual abuse. We must believe them when they come forward and hold their abusers accountable. Only then can we begin to heal the wounds of sexual abuse.

What to Do Following a Sexual Assault

If you or someone you know has been sexually assaulted, it is important to seek medical attention immediately. In a hospital, a sexual assault evidence kit will be collected. This kit is important, as it can be used to identify the assailant. You should also contact the police to file a report. It is important to do this as soon as possible so the evidence can be gathered while it is still fresh.

You may also want to consider seeking counseling or therapy to help you deal with the aftermath of the sexual assault. Many survivors find it helpful to talk to someone who understands what they are going through.

Illinois Law Regarding Sexual Assault

In Illinois, sexual assault is defined as any non-consensual sexual act. This includes rape, fondling, and child molestation. The penalties for sexual assault depend on the severity of the crime. Punishment can range from probation to life in prison.

Get Legal Help

At Lane & Lane LLC, we believe that justice means closure for sex abuse victims. We will fight tirelessly to ensure that our clients receive the justice they deserve. If you or someone you know has been a victim of sexual abuse, please contact us today at 312-332-1400.

According to the CDC, there were more than 42,000 traffic deaths in 2020. The most common cause of these deaths was speeding and reckless driving. In other cases, the cause of death was distracted driving, such as texting while driving. And in still other instances, The cause of death was alcohol use and aggressive driving.

All in all, more than 90 percent of all car accident deaths can be attributed to negligence. So what do you do when a loved one dies in a car accident due to negligence? You seek compensation by filing a wrongful death claim.

What Is a Wrongful Death Claim?

A wrongful death claim is a civil lawsuit filed by a close relative or the estate of the deceased. Relatives eligible to file a wrongful death claim are the spouse and children of the deceased. The more distant you are from the deceased, the harder it is for you to file a wrongful death claim.

For this reason, states will disagree on who can file a wrongful death lawsuit. For example, parents cannot file a wrongful death lawsuit in some states if their children are adults, while they can in others.

Proving Wrongful Death in Car Accident Cases

You will be required to prove four important things to win a wrongful death lawsuit that took the life of your loved one:

Duty of Care

To illustrate this point, let us assume that the cause of death was a drunk driver. In this case, we need to prove to the court that if the driver was not drunk, the death would not have occurred. We need to show that the driver was at fault and that the alcohol impaired his driving skills. In simple terms, every driver has a duty of care to other motorists.

Breach of Care

Once we prove duty of care, the attorney will be required to show the court how this duty of care was breached. A good example is when you must drive within a certain speed limit, but you exceed the limit and cause a fatal accident.


Causation is a term that describes how one event causes another. An example of this is when a speeding vehicle causes an accident due to a burst tire. Most negligent drivers will try to argue causation so that they are not liable for the death. In a wrongful death case, the lawyer must prove how causation is linked to the driver’s negligence.


The last piece of a wrongful death puzzle is damages. Your lawyer will be required to generate quantifiable damages that you wish to recover. Some of the measurable damages are as follows:

  • Loss of income
  • Burial costs
  • Medical expenses
  • Pain and suffering of the deceased

Consult an Experienced Wrongful Death Attorney

If you have lost a family member due to negligence, you must file a wrongful death claim. For this, you will need to work with a qualified lawyer who is experienced in dealing with wrongful death lawsuits.

When we work together, you can rest assured that the law office of Lane & Lane, LLC will ensure the best possible outcome for your case. You can get in touch via the contact form on this website or by calling 312-332-1400.

A concussion is a type of head injury caused by a sudden jolt, impact, or hit to the head. The symptoms of a concussion vary from one incident to another. You can quickly recover from some symptoms, whereas others can take a long time to heal. A Chicago personal injury lawyer can help you seek damages for a concussion when it’s cause is someone’s negligence.

You may suffer a concussion during a car crash, slip-and-fall, or any other personal injury incident. You must get immediate medical attention even if the injury seems minor. Many concussion symptoms take time to manifest and are categorized as post-concussion syndrome. The diagnosis of this syndrome can play an important role in a lawsuit.

What Is Post-Concussion Syndrome?

Post-concussion syndrome refers to various symptoms caused by a concussion. These symptoms become apparent much later. Some symptoms may become obvious days later, while others can take weeks or even months to manifest.

Nearly 50% of victims of a traumatic brain injury (TBI), such as a concussion, experience this syndrome for up to three months after the injury.

Some symptoms of the syndrome include:

  • A perpetual feeling of tiredness and fatigue
  • Problems with sleeping
  • Mood swings and irritability
  • Poor regulation of emotions
  • Dizziness and problems with maintaining balance

Why Seek Damages for a Concussion?

As noted above, the exact nature and extent of a concussion’s symptoms can take some time to reveal. Some of these are short-term, but others can have a long-term impact on your life. You may also need to undergo treatment for months or even years to recover. All these losses add up and can cause financial problems, a decline in your quality of life, and other issues.

This is why it is important to hold the negligent person or party accountable for such immense losses. Illinois personal injury laws allow you to bring a lawsuit for TBIs, including concussions, caused by someone else’s negligent behavior. You can seek both economic and non-economic damages for the injury.

Talk to a Chicago Personal Injury Lawyer

If you have suffered a concussion in a personal injury incident in Chicago, we want to help you. Here at Lane & Lane, LLC, our lawyers work with you to hold the negligent party accountable and pursue full compensation for your injury-related losses.

Contact us today at 312-332-1400 to discuss your claim with our brain injury lawyers. You can also schedule a free consultation by filling out the following form.

Sexual abuse can result in physical injuries, mental trauma, and psychological issues. It’s especially serious when the victim is a minor. Illinois laws mandate that you must report a suspected incident of child abuse if you are on the list of mandated reporters. It is also best to consult with a sexual abuse lawyer if you suspect that a loved one has suffered abuse.

Unsure whether you’re required or ready to report sexual abuse? First, you must understand what constitutes sexual abuse and whether you qualify as a mandated reporter under state laws.

What is Sexual Abuse?

Sexual abuse is unwanted sexual activity that takes advantage of a victim who can’t or hasn’t consented to the act. When such abuse is directed toward a minor, consent is no longer a factor. All sexual actions towards a minor constitute abuse.

The perpetrator of such abuse may be someone close to the minor victim. It may be a parent, foster parent, guardian, romantic partner, something who is responsible for the child’s welfare, or a resident in the same home. It can also be a stranger who came to interact with the child for some reason.

Who is a Mandated Reporter?

Under Illinois laws, certain professionals qualify as mandated reporters. This means that they must report instances of child abuse or neglect directly at the specified hotline. The professionals who fall in this category include healthcare professionals, educators, law enforcement officers, and more. You can view the full list of mandated reporters here.

If you suspect that a mandatory report has failed to report the abuse of a loved one, you may need to contact a lawyer about your case. They can determine whether you have a lawsuit against the responsible parties, and identify any mandatory reporters who failed to report sexual abuse may face penalties for their negligence.

How to Report Sexual Abuse

If you qualify as a mandated reporter and want to report sexual abuse of a minor, you are required to provide the following details at the state hotline:

  • Names of all the children and adults involved
  • Ages or birth dates of all the children and adults involved
  • Race, gender, and other details for all parties involved
  • Current locations and other relevant addresses for all parties involved
  • Specific details about the incident of abuse or circumstances that created a suspicion of abuse

You can view the full set of guidelines in Illinois’ Manual for Mandatory Reporters.

Once you submit a report of abuse, trained social workers screen the report to see if it should be investigated. Authorities will typically initiate an investigation when the victim is under eighteen, there is reasonable suspicion or proof that abuse occurred, and the perpetrator is an adult who had access to the child.

You must report any instance of sexual abuse, especially one involving a minor, as soon as possible. It’s best to err on the side of caution and report, instead of ignoring a piece of evidence or suspicious circumstances.

Your Chicago Sexual Abuse Attorney Can Help

At Lane & Lane, LLC, we understand that sexual abuse cases can be legally complicated. This is why we help you proceed with such cases with our vast legal experience and highly competent lawyers.

Reach out for a free consultation if you suspect sexual abuse and need help managing your case. Contact us today at 312-332-1400 to discuss your case with our lawyers, or you can fill out our online contact form below.

Even if you are in the middle of a case, you have the right to choose your own Chicago accident lawyer. Changing attorneys isn’t always a hassle. In fact, Changing lawyers to get the best possible result almost always comes at no cost.. Whatever the reason, you can always switch attorneys and find someone who will represent you adequately.

Why Change Your Accident Lawyer?

First, consider why your current attorney isn’t working for you. Maybe you’re wondering if you needed an attorney in the first place. People typically appoint a new injury lawyer for the following reasons:

  • The lawyer never explained his strategy for your case or what you could expect from him.
  • The lawyer did not assist you in determining the value of your case.
  • Your attorney did not contact you right away, leaving you “in the dark.”
  • You only communicate with your attorney on rare occasions, or through a case manager or legal aid worker.

Process for Changing an Accident Lawyer

Changing accident lawyers is a simple process. All you have to do is meet with your new lawyer, sign a power of attorney on your behalf, and notify your old lawyer that he or she can no longer represent you. Your new lawyer will be in charge of obtaining your former lawyer’s paperwork and negotiating a fee split with them.

If your case is going to trial, changing your accident lawyer will be more difficult. A formal request for an attorney change must be filed with the court and approved by the judge. To avoid delays, you’ll need to find a new attorney before filing a motion to replace your counsel.

Payment of Remaining Attorney’s Fees

If you owe any legal fees or other costs and expenses, you must pay them before proceeding with your new attorney. Depending on the terms of your legal contract, your attorney may be able to keep your records until you pay the fees and expenses owed. If you do not pay, they may file a lawsuit against you.

Your former attorney’s fees will be deducted from any compensation you receive from your new counsel, regardless of the amount. A fired personal injury attorney who files a claim with the court may invoke the attorney’s privilege. This allows the lawyer to deduct any unpaid fees and expenses from the final judgment in your case.

Get Professional Legal Guidance Today

If you are considering changing attorneys, please contact our personal injury lawyer, even if your case is still pending. We’ll handle all of the paperwork, costs, and other aspects of switching attorneys from there. Remember, once an offer has been accepted, finding a new attorney can be difficult.

Talk to one of our attorneys about your situation. After confirming the arguments in your favor, they will take over your case. For more information, contact Lane & Lane, LLC at 312-629-5068 or by filling out the online form.

Get Answers, Contact Us Now REQUEST A CONSULTATION
OR CALL NOW 312-471-0538