Being involved in a car accident in Illinois can be scary. If you’ve never experienced a car accident before, you may be unsure what to do as soon as an accident occurs. The state of Illinois has laws about reporting car accidents. Knowing how to do so can be helpful.
Not only is it the law to report your accident, but doing so can provide evidence for your case should you choose to sue the liable party that caused the accident. If you need help moving forward with a lawsuit, you can discuss your case with a Chicago personal injury lawyer from Lane & Lane, LLC. An experienced attorney from our team can obtain the accident report once it's filed and use it to your advantage.
Laws for Reporting Car Accidents in Illinois
You must report any Illinois car accident you’re involved in if bodily injury, death, or property damage of more than $1,500 results from the accident. It’s also illegal to leave the scene of the accident in these circumstances because the police may require your statement.
Leaving the scene of an accident in Illinois where death, bodily injury, or property damage exceeding $1,500 have occurred can result in fines of up to $25,000 and a jail sentence of up to three years.
How to Report a Car Accident in Illinois
You must file your car accident report within ten days of the accident. You can file your report with the Illinois Department of Transportation by filling out a motorist crash report. This report gathers information such as the following:
- When and what time the accident occurred
- Name, address, and birth date of all drivers involved in the accident
- Drivers license and license plate information of all drivers involved in the accident
- Insurance information of all drivers involved in the accident
- Registration information of all drivers involved in the accident
- An account of how the accident happened
Contact a Chicago Car Accident Attorney
A car accident report can be useful when going to court to obtain a settlement for your damages. To speak with a Chicago car accident lawyer from Lane & Lane, LLC about your case, call 312-332-1400 or fill out the contact form below to schedule a free consultation.